| UltraGear 27G411B-BLG | £119.99 | 27 | 1920 x 1080 | 144 | IPS | 1 (MBR) | 1x HDMI, 1x DisplayPort 1.4, headphone out |
| TUF Gaming VG27AQE5AASUS | £129.00 | 27 | 2560 x 1440 | 165 | IPS | 0.3 (GtG, min) | 2x HDMI 2.0, 1x DisplayPort 1.4, earphone jack |
| Odyssey G3 G30H 27" (LS27HG302EUXXU)Samsung | £150.00 | 27 | 1920 x 1080 | 200 | IPS | 1 (MPRT) | 1x HDMI 2.0, 1x DisplayPort 1.4, headphone out |
| MAG 274QFMSI | £169.00 | 27 | 2560 x 1440 | 180 | Rapid IPS | 0.5 (GtG, min) | 2x HDMI 2.0b, 1x DisplayPort 1.4a, headphone out |
| Odyssey G5 G50F 27" (LS27FG502EUXXU)Samsung | £179.00 | 27 | 2560 x 1440 | 180 | IPS | 1 (GtG) | 1x HDMI 2.0, 1x DisplayPort 1.2, headphone out |
| 24G4XAOC | Price varies | 23.8 | 1920 x 1080 | 180 | Fast IPS | 1 (GtG) / 0.5 (MPRT) | 2x HDMI 2.0, 1x DisplayPort 1.4, headphone out |
No products match. Raise the budget or change platform.
The shortlist, product by product
UltraGear 27G411B-B
LG's 2026 entry-level UltraGear pairs a 27-inch 1080p IPS panel with 144 Hz, HDR10 support and G-SYNC Compatible / FreeSync adaptive sync. The RRP was £119.99, and LG's UK store showed it at £99.98 when we checked.
Watch out: LG's spec sheet does not state the HDMI version, the stand only tilts, and there are no built-in speakers.
TUF Gaming VG27AQE5A
A 27-inch 1440p IPS monitor with 165 Hz over DisplayPort, HDR10, Adaptive-Sync (G-SYNC Compatible and FreeSync listed) and 2 W x 2 speakers. The stand tilts only, and ASUS lists a 300 cd/m² typical brightness.
Watch out: ASUS's UK eShop showed it as unavailable (notify me) when we checked, and the HDMI inputs top out at 150 Hz, so 165 Hz needs DisplayPort.
Odyssey G3 G30H 27" (LS27HG302EUXXU)
A 27-inch 1080p IPS monitor rated up to 200 Hz, with FreeSync Premium and HDR10. The RRP was £150, and Samsung's UK store showed £129 when we checked.
Watch out: There is only one HDMI port, the stand is tilt-only and there are no speakers; 200 Hz is far above what any console outputs.
MAG 274QF
A 27-inch 1440p Rapid IPS monitor with 180 Hz over DisplayPort, FreeSync and a three-year warranty on MSI's UK store. The RRP was £169, and the store showed £119 when we checked.
Watch out: MSI lists 1440p at up to 144 Hz over HDMI and 180 Hz only over DisplayPort, and describes HDR support as "HDR Ready" rather than a certified HDR level.
Odyssey G5 G50F 27" (LS27FG502EUXXU)
The only 1440p model here with a stand that adjusts height (105 mm), tilt, swivel and pivot. Samsung lists 180 Hz, HDR10, FreeSync and G-Sync Compatible; the RRP was £179 and the UK store showed £149 when we checked.
Watch out: It has a single HDMI port and DisplayPort 1.2 rather than 1.4, and no speakers.
24G4X
A 23.8-inch 1080p Fast IPS monitor with 180 Hz, which AOC lists as available over HDMI as well as DisplayPort. It has a height-adjustable stand (130 mm) with tilt, swivel and pivot, HDR10, Adaptive-Sync (G-SYNC Compatible) and 2 W x 2 speakers.
Watch out: AOC's UK site does not publish a price, so we could not confirm a UK RRP; compare retailer prices yourself.
1080p vs 1440p on a budget monitor for PS5, Xbox and PC
At 24 inches, 1080p (1920 x 1080) looks reasonably sharp from normal desk distance. At 27 inches the same number of pixels is spread over a bigger area, so text and fine detail look softer. That is why most 27-inch gaming monitors above the entry level use 1440p (2560 x 1440).
The other side is what feeds the screen. A PC has to render 78% more pixels at 1440p than at 1080p, which lowers frame rates on a modest graphics card. Consoles handle this themselves: Sony says PS5 supports 1440p output to compatible displays, and Nintendo lists 1440p as a TV-mode option on Switch 2.
- 24-inch, 1080p: suits smaller desks, younger players and modest PCs.
- 27-inch, 1080p: a bigger screen for the money, but softer text up close.
- 27-inch, 1440p: sharper, and only slightly more expensive than 27-inch 1080p in this list.
HDMI 2.0 vs HDMI 2.1: what consoles get from a budget monitor
Every monitor in this list uses HDMI 2.0 (or does not state a version). That has real effects for console players.
- 4K at 120 Hz: Xbox support says this needs an Xbox Series X, an Ultra High Speed HDMI cable that supports HDMI 2.1 and a display that supports HDMI 2.1. None of these monitors is 4K, so it does not apply here.
- 120 Hz at a lower resolution: Xbox support says you can still turn on 120 Hz at a lower resolution on a display without HDMI 2.1.
- 1440p at 120 Hz on PS5: Sony says 1440p output needs a display that supports 1440p at 60 Hz, or at 60 Hz and 120 Hz. MSI lists 1440p at up to 144 Hz over HDMI 2.0b for the MAG 274QF, and ASUS lists an HDMI range up to 150 Hz for the VG27AQE5A, so on paper both accept 120 Hz from a console.
VRR on consoles: why FreeSync on the box is not the whole story
Variable refresh rate (VRR) lets the screen wait for each new frame instead of refreshing on a fixed timer, which reduces tearing and judder when frame rates drop. On a PC, monitors do this with AMD FreeSync, VESA Adaptive-Sync or NVIDIA G-SYNC Compatible, usually over DisplayPort.
Consoles are different. Sony describes PS5 VRR as working with HDMI 2.1 VRR-compatible TVs and monitors. A monitor that lists only FreeSync over HDMI 2.0 may not offer VRR to a PS5. For Switch 2, Nintendo's spec sheet lists VRR up to 120 Hz for the console's built-in screen, while the TV-mode output section lists resolution, frame rate and HDR10 but not VRR.
So when choosing a budget monitor for a console, treat VRR as a PC feature unless the manufacturer specifically lists HDMI 2.1 VRR.
Refresh rate and response time figures on monitor spec sheets
Refresh rate (Hz) is how many times per second the screen can show a new image. Consoles top out at 120 Hz, so a 180 Hz or 200 Hz monitor brings no extra benefit on a console, though it can help on a PC that produces high frame rates.
Response time is harder to compare because brands measure it differently. This list includes GtG (grey-to-grey), MPRT (moving picture response time) and MBR (motion blur reduction) figures, and some are labelled as a minimum. A 0.5 ms GtG figure and a 1 ms MPRT figure are not measuring the same thing, so they cannot be ranked against each other. The full explanation is in our refresh rate and response time explainer.
IPS panels, brightness and the HDR labels on cheap monitors
All six monitors use IPS-type panels (Samsung, LG and ASUS say IPS; AOC says Fast IPS; MSI says Rapid IPS). IPS panels are known for consistent colours and wide viewing angles, which helps when two people are watching the same screen. The usual trade-off is lower contrast than VA panels, so dark scenes can look greyer. The typical contrast figures published by Samsung, LG, ASUS and MSI for these models range from 1,000:1 to 1,500:1.
HDR labels need care. “HDR10 support” means the monitor accepts an HDR10 signal; it does not mean it is bright enough to show HDR well. The typical brightness figures published for five of these models range from 250 to 300 cd/m². MSI calls its model “HDR Ready”. If HDR matters to you, look for a VESA DisplayHDR certification level, which none of these six lists.
Stands, speakers and ports you only notice after setup
- Stand: only the Samsung Odyssey G5 G50F and AOC 24G4X list height adjustment. Tilt-only stands are fine if the desk height suits you; otherwise all six support 100 x 100 mm VESA mounting except the Odyssey G3 G30H, which lists 75 x 75 mm.
- Speakers: ASUS and AOC list 2 W x 2 speakers. The Samsung and LG models list none, so a console's sound will need headphones plugged into the monitor or controller, or separate speakers.
- Number of HDMI ports: if a PS5 and a Switch 2 will share one screen, two HDMI inputs (MSI, ASUS, AOC) save swapping cables.
- Cables in the box: Samsung lists HDMI and DisplayPort cables for both Odyssey models. ASUS lists a DisplayPort cable for the VG27AQE5A.
Choosing a monitor size for the distance you sit
Gaming monitors are designed to be viewed from roughly arm's length. A 27-inch screen at that distance fills more of your view, which some players like for open-world games and others find too much for fast competitive games, where seeing the whole screen at once helps. A 24-inch screen is also easier to fit on a child's desk.
If the monitor will sit further back, such as a console on a dresser across a bedroom, a small TV may suit better. Monitors rarely have remote controls, and most here have small speakers or none at all.
To see how all of this fits with a particular console, read our console compatibility guide and our guide to reading a spec sheet.
Common questions
Do I need HDMI 2.1 for a PS5 on a budget monitor?
Not to play. PS5 works with HDMI 2.0 displays, and Sony says 1440p output needs a display that supports 1440p at 60 Hz (or 60 Hz and 120 Hz). Sony describes PS5 VRR as requiring an HDMI 2.1 VRR-compatible display, and 4K at 120 Hz also needs HDMI 2.1.
Is a 200 Hz monitor wasted on a console?
Partly. Current consoles output at most 120 Hz, so the extra refresh rate only helps on a PC that can produce more than 120 frames per second.
Why do some monitors show two different response times?
Brands quote different measurements, such as GtG (grey-to-grey) and MPRT (motion blur). AOC lists both for the 24G4X. They measure different things, so only compare like with like.
Which of these monitors has built-in speakers?
ASUS lists 2 W x 2 speakers for the TUF Gaming VG27AQE5A, and AOC lists 2 W x 2 for the 24G4X. The Samsung Odyssey G3 G30H, Odyssey G5 G50F and LG 27G411B-B list no speakers.
Why is the AOC price missing?
AOC's UK website lists specifications but not a price, and we only quote prices from the manufacturer. Check UK retailers for the current price.
- https://www.lg.com/uk/monitors/gaming/27g411b-b/
- https://www.asus.com/uk/displays-desktops/monitors/tuf-gaming/tuf-gaming-vg27aqe5a/techspec/
- https://www.asus.com/uk/store/displays-desktops/monitors/?Series=Gaming
- https://www.samsung.com/uk/monitors/gaming/odyssey-g3-g30h-27-inch-200hz-fhd-ls27hg302euxxu/
- https://www.samsung.com/uk/monitors/gaming/odyssey-g5-g50f-27-inch-180hz-qhd-ls27fg502euxxu/
- https://uk-store.msi.com/products/mag-274qf
- https://aoc.com/uk/gaming/products/monitors/24g4x
- https://www.playstation.com/en-gb/ps5/ps5-features/
- https://support.xbox.com/en-GB/help/hardware-network/display-sound/4k-gaming-at-120hz
- https://www.nintendo.com/en-gb/Hardware/Nintendo-Switch-2/Nintendo-Switch-2-Specifications-2785627.html
Spec changed? Tell us.
